Hello world!

I’m just a mom trying to lead my family through a healthy lifestyle. It’s a daily struggle and sometimes it’s nice to get my thoughts out.

About six months ago the family starting living a healthier lifestyle. We cut back on processed foods laden with high fructose corn syrup, trans fat, artificial and modified ingredients, and opted for healthier whole foods. We try to buy local and organic when reasonably possible. We don’t eat out much anymore. Sounds simple, right? I wish it was. There’s so much information out there and it’s difficult and time-consuming to sift through.

I thought that table sugar was a good alternative to high fructose corn syrup. I was on the ‘hfcs is evil’ band wagon (shame on me). Then last week I found this video and learned otherwise. One of the comments under the video said something about how choosing between hfcs and refined table sugar is like choosing between crack and cocaine. Now I’ve never used crack or cocaine, but I totally get that analogy. So now I’ve modified my view of it. I still avoid hfcs like the plague. I mean it’s in almost everything these days. It’s the cheapest and most widely used sweetener in the food industry. Just by avoiding it alone we’ve really cut our sugar (and processed food) consumption dramatically.

About Michele
Wife and Mom of three girls doing her best to lead the family into a healthier lifestyle and evolve gracefully.

Leave a Reply

