I love food!

I love to cook. I knew this even before we started eating healthy and probably since I was kid. But I didn’t realize how much I love it. I just wish I had more time to do it. If I had time, I would make everything from scratch… fresh bread, condiments. I would like to try making my own bread soon.  Maybe I will. I’ll let you know how it goes.

I also recently discovered that I love to grow my own food. I would like to have my own sustainable garden with seasonal vegetables, some fruit trees, herbs. I do have a small container garden with tomatoes, peppers and a few herbs. The pumpkins are the only thing that are actually in the ground, which are where the “real” garden will be next year. Oh and I did plant some blueberry bushes. We have some wild blackberries growing, but they aren’t very good, and we may have ruined them when we cleared off the fence. So I got my feet wet anyway.

Our new diet allows me to practice my favorite hobby. (By diet I mean: “1 a : food and drink regularly provided or consumed b : habitual nourishment c : the kind and amount of food prescribed for a person or animal for a special reason” and not “d : a regimen of eating and drinking sparingly so as to reduce one’s weight.”) My favorite things right now are my set of stainless steel pots and pans and Corelle dinnerware. This is the first time I’ve owned a decent set of either. Before I had a mishmash of pots and pans and dinnerware sets. The pots make cooking so much easier and much more fun. The dinnerware makes everything look so good. I can’t believe what I was missing all these years!! Invest in good cookware and dinnerware. It’s worth it, and they don’t have to be expensive. Mine weren’t. I also have a few new cooking utensils that have a come in handy. I don’t want to over do it though, and have my kitchen cluttered with stuff I don’t use often. A good set of knives can do most of the work in the kitchen. A dull knife makes prepping meals twice as hard, not to mention dangerous.

Mise en place is my new favorite cooking term. Although I say it mostly in my head, for fear of sounding like a dope out loud. “Mise en place, mise en place…” (Click here for pronunciation.) Sounds cool, right? And I love the meaning –  everything in it’s place. This is the part that seems to take the most time when cooking. A lot of recipes provide an estimated prep time. I think the estimates must assume (surely) that your “1/2 c. diced onions” or “1 tsp. chopped garlic” are peeled, washed, chopped, measured and ready to go. Otherwise, I’m just really slow. Of course that is a very real possibility.

I like to see a lot of variety and a lot of color on my plate. Last night we had Honey Chicken Stir-Fry, but I modified the recipe to make it healthier and use what I had on hand. I didn’t have any frozen veg, so I cut up some red onion, red pepper, celery (yum) and mushrooms and used a bag of ready-to-eat broccoli and cauliflower. I think using fresh veg made it better. I used regular soy sauce and just skipped the salt. Why the poster of this recipe bothered using low sodium soy sauce, just to add salt later is beyond me. I also skipped the cornstarch and cut the honey down to 2 tbs. It took a little longer to cook because the vegetables were cut a little larger than you would usually find in the freezer section. And of course I served it with brown rice, instead of my old staple, Korean white sticky rice. It was so good and so easy. I could eat it a couple times a week. I wish I’d taken a picture of it to insert here. I probably would have gotten some strange looks from the family for that one. But it was beautiful.

I’ve made so many new dishes in the last few months that I feel like I’ve been on a food adventure. I love food! I’ve used ingredients I’d never thought of and some I’d never heard of. I’ve been to the farmers market and found things on the shelves of grocery stores that I never knew were there. I discovered Earth Fare and finally shopped at Trader Joe’s. I’ve learned to appreciate Harris Teeter for offering healthier selections to it’s customers, that the other local food chains do not. I’ve also learned that there’s more to food than just taste. There’s so much to learn about the health benefits and power of food and herbs. Not to mention finding the healthiest ways to prepare and select them in order to get the most nutritional value from them. Even the best way to grow and harvest them. I’m just a sponge… soaking it all up. It’s as if I’ve opened Pandora’s food box. I’m just in awe…

About Michele
Wife and Mom of three girls doing her best to lead the family into a healthier lifestyle and evolve gracefully.

2 Responses to I love food!

  1. Pingback: A Year on Real Food « HealthyMamma's Blog

  2. Pingback: Play with Your Food. « HealthyMamma's Blog

Leave a Reply

