Cook, Eat, Photograph

I finally made the Butternut Squash Bisque that I couldn’t get to over the weekend. I roasted the vegetables first, rather than sauteing or boiling them as the recipe suggested. I cut the squash in half, sliced the onion and threw the carrots in whole. Then I drizzled them with olive oil and roasted them at 350 degrees for about 30 minutes.  While they were roasting, I heated the vegetable stock with a little freshly ground pepper and nutmeg on the stove. The carrots were not soft enough, so I diced them up and threw them in the pot with the stock for few more minutes while I scraped out my squash. Next time I’ll cut the carrots in half. I used my Cuisinart hand blender (love it) to puree it in batches. I didn’t add any heavy cream, which the recipe calls for. Instead I just dropped a dollop of plain yogurt in my bowl of soup, threw some chives on top of that and then drizzle a teeny bit of olive oil over it. It was pretty good, but I was a little underwhelmed.

I wanted to take some pictures of it, so I had some again for lunch today. I wasn’t as excited about eating it as I was about photographing it, so I just made a little bowl. It still needed something. It’s kind of like tomato soup. Simple, good… but kinda boring. I might enjoy this soup as part of a multi-course meal, but not on it’s own. Then I figured out what was missing. Some heat!! I added a little cayenne pepper (and a little salt). WHOA! Now we’re talking. I was going back for seconds! Made this way, I could easily see myself eating a bowl of this by itself anytime, but especially on cool day. It was really comforting.

Here are some more random pictures of food. I was playing with the manual settings on my camera this morning in an attempt to figure out how I can get that nice bokeh (blur) in my photos. I think I figured it out, but I need some practice. I wish I could spend all my days cooking, eating and photographing food. What a dream..

About Michele
Wife and Mom of three girls doing her best to lead the family into a healthier lifestyle and evolve gracefully.

Leave a Reply

