An 8 Year Old’s Perspective

Linsey wrote her “story” about a week ago, but I’m just getting a chance to post it. I was going to do a little editing to cut down on the repetition and correct obvious errors, but I’m going to fight the urge to change anything, and post it “as is” so that you can get the full scope of it’s 8 year old charm! I apologize in advance if it’s too difficult to read.

Linsey’s Perspective:

I like to go to the farmars market with my mom. I see lots of food at the farmars market. There are lots of vegetables at the farmermersmarket We go to farmarsmarket on Saturdays evry week. There are not a lot of furts at the farmer. The first day I went to the farmersmarket I thout the farmersmarket was boring but I was wong now I bon’t thinnk that the farmersmarket is boring eny more. I amso Excted evrytime I go to the farmersmarket I went. one time I went I stayed to wach a chef cook I was so happy when the chef was done I got to try the food that the chef cooked. I was so good that I wanted more but I couldn’t have more. I tasted a pear at the farmersmarket the pear was so good. Evry time I go I can get a treat. I can get eny treat that I want. I am so happy that I can get a treat. The treats I get are so good that I want more Love Linsey the End

In case you were unable to decipher: “There are not a lot of furts at the farmer,” she was not talking about flatulent or grouchy old farmers. She meant: There are not a lot of fruits at the farmers market. She was blown away when I told her that tomatoes, cucumbers, squash and pumpkins were all fruit. It was not easy for me to ignore all those red squiggly lines as I typed, as well as her misuse of punctuation and lowercase and capital letters. But there it is.

Last night for dinner I had planned on putting some leftover ingredients together with some new ones to save time and also because I didn’t want to waste any of our treasured fare. I chopped two cloves of fresh garlic, stemmed and chopped some shiitakes from Clover Mushroom Farm and rough chopped about two handfuls of fresh sweet basil from my garden. I started my pasta water, then heated a couple tablespoons of olive oil in a pan and threw in the garlic, mushrooms, leftover Grateful Growers pork sausage (about half a cup), sea salt and freshly ground pepper. I had planned on adding leftover tomato sauce from our Italian sausage dinner to these ingredients, but after being hit with the wonderful aroma of mushrooms, garlic and sausage sauteing in olive oil, I decided not to drown them in the heavy sauce. Instead, I added about a half a cup of Chardonnay that I had in the fridge. While the alcohol was cooking out, I diced a tomato, thinly sliced about a quarter cup of sweet onion (very thin, I mean almost shaved) and grated about a half a cup of fresh parmesan. I also tossed fresh handmade pasta (by Pasta a Mano) into the boiling pot of water. It only takes about 3 minutes to get fresh pasta cooked al dente. I drained the pasta, then tossed it, along with the tomatoes, onions, basil and parmesan, into the the mushroom and sausage mixture. It was delicious and the pasta was perfect.

I now know that fresh, al dente pasta does not compare in any way to the bland, dry pasta sold in a box at my local grocery store. I would love to learn how to make it from scratch myself. Then I could spend time making pasta with my kids, the way Italian mothers do. I know we’re not Italian, but what a lovely tradition to share between generations.

After dinner I cut two acorn squash in half, seeded and then microwaved them, cut side down, for about 5 minutes (shortcut to reduce baking time). Then I turned them over and wished I had remembered to slice a tiny bit of the end off so they would sit flat. It was much more difficult to do this while they were hot. I put about a half a teaspoon of butter and about two tablespoons of chopped walnuts in each half, drizzled them with a small amount of maple syrup, and then VERY lightly sprinkled some brown sugar on top. I put them in a 350 degree oven for about 30 minutes. When they were done, I set them out on the stove to cool while I got the girls ready for bed. The smell in the house was amazing, but still they had no interest in eating a “vegetable” for desert.

In the mean time, Brian finally got home and came straight upstairs, grinning and inquiring about what was sitting on the stove. Once the kids were in bed, we ate our desert. Brian commented that he wanted to eat them again and, lucky for him, it’s squash season! I’m already inventing new recipes in my head. Maybe I’ll try it with some fresh squeezed orange juice and zest, or cinnamon, maybe even diced with apples. Mmmmm, endless possibilities. Seasonal eating is so yummy!

About Michele
Wife and Mom of three girls doing her best to lead the family into a healthier lifestyle and evolve gracefully.

One Response to An 8 Year Old’s Perspective

  1. Pingback: Haleigh’s Take On Things « HealthyMamma's Blog

Leave a Reply

