10 Things I Use Daily in the Kitchen

Here’s a list of 10 things that I use nearly every day. The astonishing thing is that most of these couldn’t be found in my kitchen prior to 2010. Now I can’t imagine cooking (and eating) without them. What a difference a year makes.

1. Real Food – Fresh, local, seasonal, organically grown fruits, vegetables and herbs from my garden and the farmers market; local pastured pork, chicken and eggs;  local grass fed beef; local, raw, pastured dairy (why raw? read “Dairy”).

2. Cast iron cookware – I just got a cast iron combo cooker for Christmas and a well-seasoned, 12-inch skillet to replace the one I cracked (yes, cracked). I’ll be ordering a grill pan, panini press and loaf pan soon. Safe and the extra iron that’s absorbed by food is a plus. We can use the extra iron in our diet.

3. Stainless steel cookware – Can’t believe there was a time I hated stainless steel – because I didn’t know how to use it. Stainless steel is easy to use, safe and easy to clean. Since I’ve learned to keep the heat down (like you would with cast iron), which is also an energy saver, I’ve never had a problem with burning, scorching or cleaning it. I love how evenly these pans cook (again just like cast iron), especially the skillets.


4. A nice set of dinnerware – Another thing I can’t believe I thought was frivolous just a year ago. I have Corelle’s square, pure white dinnerware and love how it shows off food. Plus, it’s lightweight and durable.


5. Pyrex – DOWN WITH PLASTIC! I’ve replaced almost all plastics in my kitchen with Pyrex. It’s safer, easier to clean and you can easily see what’s stored inside. I’ll be ordering a set of mixing bowls to replace some plastic ones soon.
6. Knife sharpener – The most used tool in the kitchen should be sharp at all times. This sharpener is inexpensive and easy to use. It works better than any sharpener I’ve tried.
7. Good oils and fats –  I use local, pastured lard (why? read “Oh My Lard!”), tallow and butter, organic coconut oil and organic olive oil. I also want to experiment with grape seed, walnut, flax seed, avocado and palm oils.


8. Food and recipe websites, blogs, books, t.v., movies – I regularly use Allrecipes.com, Epicurious.com, EatingWell.com and FoodNetwork.com. I almost always alter recipes to make them more nourishing or to suit my family’s taste and sometimes to use what I have on hand. The reviews are extremely helpful. And here are some of the blogs that keep me going: Cheese Slave, Nourished Kitchen, The Food Renegade and 100DaysofRealFood. My favorite books are Animal, Vegetable, Miracle, In Defense of Food, Nourishing Traditions, Real Food: What to Eat and Why, The Conscious Kitchen. I’m on the public library’s waiting list for The Omnivore’s Dilemma. Some shows and movies that inspire me are Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution, Food, Inc., Fast Food Nation (the movie is cheesy, but delivers the message loud and clear), Super Size Me (I strongly suggest you watch that one), Top Chef, Food Network Channel and where this journey really began – Dr. Oz.


9. Tea – I like it so much that I blogged about it here.


10. Water Kefir – This stuff is so much fun! I love nurturing the grains and experimenting with flavors and ingredients. It’s delicious and nourishing. To find out more read “Water Kefir”. Oh and since posting that blog, I’ve found that it can in fact get very fizzy, just like soda. Though I’m not quite sure how I got it so fizzy that one time. I’m not sure whether it was the amount of time, right ingredients, temperature, etc. Lots more experimenting to do.

About Michele
Wife and Mom of three girls doing her best to lead the family into a healthier lifestyle and evolve gracefully.

Leave a Reply

