TV Sacrifice

I’ve gone mad – or maybe I’ve come to my senses. I just deleted everything (except two movies and a couple of London’s favorite shows for emergencies) from my DVR. Not only did I erase all of the recorded shows, but my entire pre-programmed schedule for future recordings. I’m going cold turkey.

This morning I’ve been thinking a lot about my garden, about food and about life. I realized that in order for me to reach my goals, I’m going to need more time. Since I can’t add hours to the day, I’m going to have to budget my time better and declutter my schedule, the way I’m decluttering my home. My favorite things in life are my family and friends, food, my garden and this blog. In order for me to have time for all of this and the things that have to be done whether I like them or not, I’m going to have to purge some things. Bye-bye television and Netflix. A weight has been lifted (again).

Now I’m just going to ramble about some of my favorite things, namely food and gardening. I’m still trying to make the perfect loaf of whole wheat bread. I bought a loaf made by a professional baker from the farmers market and was relieved to find that her loaf was no better than mine. In fact, it was worse. It was just as small, dense and crumbly as mine was but it didn’t taste nearly as good. You may recall that the last loaf I blogged about here, turned out perfectly and I thought I had it all figured out. Well, I guess the stars and moon were aligned or it was a fluke. The loaf I made this week, with all my notes, tips and tricks, didn’t turn out as well. I think I let it rise too long. I still have a few tricks up my sleeve, so we’ll see.

I also made a French loaf, which would have turned out perfectly had I not burned it under the broiler while trying to get the top perfectly golden. But the first, slightly more ridiculous snafu happened at the beginning. The recipe said to make a well in the center of the flour, pour in the water then mix by hand. I had this picture in my head of flour piled right on the counter with a well in the middle, so I gave it a try. What I’m about to tell you is a gift to make you feel really smart. I poured the one and half cups of water into the pile and it immediately ran out all over the counter (facepalm). Duh. One and a half cups of water?! Good thing my counter is wide and I had cleared it off completely. Working quickly and using the dough scraper like a squeegee, I managed to incorporate all the water back into the dough and none of it hit the floor. Once I had it contained, I had to take a second to curse and then laugh at my stupidity. I wish I could have taken a picture of the mess, but my hands were covered in dough.

Backyard Produce delivered my tiny box of organic (and some local) produce on Wednesday. What a rip off. I basically paid $20 for a few small tomatoes and a couple of pears, a bunch of spinach, some blueberries and fennel.

I could have fared better at Harris Teeter. I purchased the deal from Groupon ($18 for $35 worth) and felt mislead by Backyard Produce throughout the entire process. I thought I’d be ordering the large $35 box of produce, which would have been great. The Groupon stated “packaging and delivery included”, but I didn’t think that meant that $12 of the $35 was going to be used to pay for the packaging. So $23 went toward about $15 worth of produce. They also charged tax (which I did find mentioned later, in the fine print on a separate page of Groupon). I had to subscribe to a weekly plan in order to use the Groupon, which would have been fine if there was some information on the website about how to cancel your account or change billing information. There is no instruction for either. I can put the next several weeks on “hold”, but that’s just not good enough. I had to email the company to get the account canceled. In the end, I paid $20 (tax and all) for $15 worth of produce. I guess, it might be worth $5 to have it delivered – if you weren’t planning to go to the grocery store at all. I also get to keep the packaging – a cardboard box dipped in wax and lined with insulation. That might actually come in handy once or twice before I have to throw it out. Be careful Groupon and Living Social customers. I did report my experience to Groupon.

On a brighter note, I’ve forgotten how much I love spring. Whatever happens to make plants and trees grow and flowers bloom, happens inside of me every spring too. And yet every spring I forget how good it feels, until it hits me. It feels like being born again. I don’t know if this has anything to do with the fact that I was born in spring, or whether it happens to everyone. My guess (and my hope) is that it happens to everyone. I’ve happily neglected the T.V. to spend more time outside – gardening.

Thyme and Mint (The snail is meant to keep the squirrels from digging.) Mojitos are in my very near future.

 

Herbs, Lettuce and some strawberries I found growing in a pot last week (safe from pesticides).

 

"TruGreen Tainted Strawberries" that I'm still thinking about eating. The rabbits have been nibbling on them, so I'm recycling plastic drink bottles to protect the leaves for now.

 

Inground Garden

 

Peas - Thanks Carrie!!

 

Linsey's Cabbage - Bonnie Plants 3rd Grade Cabbage Program (Cool!)

I’ve set a goal for myself that within a month or two, my purchases at the farmers market will be limited to local, pastured meat, eggs and cheese and other local specialty items like honey, mushrooms and my favorite stone ground grits. The plan is for most of our produce to come from our garden – tomatoes, beans, peas, chard, kale, herbs, lettuces, spring onions, sweet peppers, hot peppers, fennel, broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, onions and a few fruits – strawberries, blueberries and blackberries, and maybe watermelon, pumpkin and winter squash. I plan to share and find ways to preserve by canning, freezing and drying what we can’t use. (See why there’s no room for T.V.)

About Michele
Wife and Mom of three girls doing her best to lead the family into a healthier lifestyle and evolve gracefully.

4 Responses to TV Sacrifice

  1. Jane says:

    This blog is a great inspiration! We’ve used Organics to You, located in Portland. I like them because the produce good and you don’t have to sign a contract with them so it’s easy to cancel your service.

  2. healthymamma says:

    Thanks for the comment Jane. You guys are so lucky because Portland is ahead of the curve on these things. We have fewer local options here. Sometimes I’m envious of northwestern-ers and wish we could move and raise our kids there. But I also feel it’s worthwhile to stay and contribute to changing this neck of the woods. One day the they’ll catch up to the rest of the world. : )

  3. Pingback: This and That « HealthyMamma's Blog

  4. Pingback: Stress Is Natural, Seasonal Affective Disorder Is Too « HealthyMamma's Blog

Leave a Reply

