A Week of Food (Sans Microwave)

I like to drink hot tea… a lot – maybe 2 to 4 cups a day. It’s a bit more difficult without a microwave. At first I was heating water in a sauce pan. Then I found a like-new Revere Copper Bottom Tea Kettle at a thrift store for a whopping $2.99. SOLD! (Thrift stores are my favorite these days. They are the ultimate way to recycle, re-purpose and reuse – and save a ton of money!)

Green tea infused with mint and rosemary.

This is my version of Olive Garden’s  “Zuppa Toscano”. I added kidney beans and used kale to make it nutrient dense. I also skipped the bacon this time. (It’s rich enough without it.) If you want to lighten this soup up, or prefer a little acidity, you can skip the heavy cream and stir in a quarter cup of red wine vinegar to the pot once it’s done cooking. It’s delicious both ways.

This week I made pasta salad for the girls’ lunches. I used several veggies and herbs from the garden: aji dulce peppers, fresh basil, parsley, oregano and some grape tomatoes (the only tomatoes left in the garden). I added chopped onions, kalamata olives and grated Pecorino Romano. I dressed it in olive oil, red wine vinegar, balsamic vinegar, some of brine from the olives, black pepper, a few red pepper flakes and just a little salt. Pecorino Romano is quite salty.

We had pizza one night. The 100% whole wheat crust and sauce were made from scratch. For the sauce I used San Marzano tomatoes (only because they were on sale). Some cooks swear these are the best tasting canned tomatoes. I dunno. Raw, out of the can, they weren’t anything special. The sauce turned out wonderful, but I think the garlic, onions, sweet bell peppers, aji dulce peppers,  basil, oregano, thyme, sage, salt and pepper might have had something to do with it. I covered it with a splatter screen to keep the sauce in, but let it reduce down more quickly. Then I pureed it a little with an immersion blender. Homemade sauces for pasta and pizza are so easy, so much better tasting and way better for you. 

^^^This is why I’m putting aji dulce peppers in everything! This pepper plant is quite prolific! We also stuffed some with a mixture of goat cheese, cream cheese and bacon, then roasted them at 375 degrees for 20 minutes.

Halloween has officially hit our house. This was not my idea, nor my recommendation, but I did get caught up in the spirit.

Not sure what was happening when I broke down and bought these. I hardly ever buy candy, unless it’s made with dark chocolate. Nostalgia? That’s probably also what caused me to eat one after taking this photo. Disgustingly sweet (each one is about 82% sugar)… but it didn’t stop me from eating two more.

I tried to take this picture without alerting the kids, but I got caught.

So I gave her a few too. London: “Thank you Mommy! I love you.”

London: “Can I just have one more… please?”

Me: “No.”

About Michele
Wife and Mom of three girls doing her best to lead the family into a healthier lifestyle and evolve gracefully.

Leave a Reply

