Roasted Tomato and Red Pepper Soup (Autumn)

Last week a friend shared a link with me from smittenkitchen.com for Roasted Tomato Soup. (Thanks Jane!) While looking over the recipe, I instantly started salivating. Memories of childhood and Campbell’s Tomato Soup came to mind (though the soup from smittenkitchen looked a thousand times more appetizing). But I loved the canned soup when I was kid – with obscene amounts of crumbled Ritz Crackers. I tried it again as an adult, years later, and was disappointed. (Why don’t these things ever taste the way we remember?) I so miss enjoying that bowl of soup. I have never tried to make it from scratch. Usually fresh tomatoes peak at the end of summer, when it’s much too hot for soup. However one of the farmers from the market has a ton of late tomatoes this season. So thanks to Jane and late tomatoes, I decided to try and resurrect my love of tomato soup.

What I liked about the smittenkitchen recipe was that the tomatoes were roasted, along with a few cloves of garlic, and I loved the way the recipe married grilled cheese and tomato soup. I also love roasted peppers (especially with tomatoes). And I just happened to have some really great sweet red peppers in the garden. The one below is not yet ready and nowhere near as large as the ones I actually used. They are called Corno di Toro Sweet Peppers and are also great for stuffing (which I have done… and they were good). But if you aren’t lucky enough to have fresh peppers growing in your back yard, then you could substitute with red bell peppers. I also have some medium heat Poblano Peppers in the garden. I used one large one.

Something else that goes well with tomatoes is basil. And I have lots of beautiful basil perking up in my garden thanks to cooler weather. (Isn’t a garden a great place for inspiration?) So here’s my seasonal version of tomato soup:

ROASTED TOMATO AND RED PEPPER SOUP (AUTUMN)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 4 or 5 medium sized tomatoes
  • 1 large or a few small to medium red sweet peppers, seeded
  • 1 Poblano Pepper, seeded (or other hot pepper)
  • 3 to 4 cloves of garlic
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper
  • 2 cups of vegetable or meat stock
  • fresh basil (optional)
  • plain yogurt or sour cream (optional)
  • chives (optional)

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Quarter tomatoes and squeeze out some of the seeds and excess water. Put them in a strainer and let them drain a little more while you cut and seed the peppers into chunks. Place tomatoes, peppers and whole cloves of garlic on a baking dish, drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Roast in a 400° oven for 45 minutes to an hour, stirring once or twice during cooking.
  2. Once the tomatoes and peppers are soft and begin to brown they are done. Remove the dish from the oven and press on the roasted garlic with a fork to easily remove the skin. You can either put the roasted veggies and the fresh basil into a food processor or blender until smooth (or chunky if you like it that way, use a blender if you want it really smooth); or you could just skip to the next step and use a hand held immersion blender.
  3. Combine the tomato, pepper and basil mixture and the stock of your choice in a pot over medium heat. (This is where the immersion blender comes in if you haven’t already blended them.) Once the soup begins to boil, reduce heat and simmer, uncovered for 20 minutes.

Click here for a printer friendly version: ROASTED TOMATO AND RED PEPPER SOUP

Serve this soup with a dollop of plain yogurt or sour cream, a sprinkle of fresh chives, maybe a little drizzle of olive oil and a slice or two of toasted, crusty, chewy bread topped with melted cheddar cheese.  When I made the soup on Sunday, I placed the bread in the oven with the cheese, then once the bread was toasted and the cheese melted I placed a couple slices directly on top of each bowl of soup . It went all soft and gooey, which was amazing, but I missed the crunch from those crackers in my childhood tomato soup.

So the next day for lunch, I kept the cheesy toast on the side. I also got it really crispy on both sides before adding the cheese. I put a little olive oil in a pan over medium heat and toasted the bread well on one side, then flipped it, sprinkled it with sharp cheddar cheese and turned the heat off while the other side toasted slowly, giving the cheese enough time to melt.

Some suggest peeling the tomatoes and the peppers, but I didn’t bother and it turned out fine. If the soup is a little on the watery side, you can either add some tomato paste, tomato sauce or canned tomatoes (though you may have to blend it again if you use canned tomatoes), or you could just simmer for a little longer to allow more of the water to cook out. We were in a hurry (because the football game was starting!) so I added a can of Trader Joe’s  fire roasted tomatoes with green chillies.

To save time, you could easily use canned tomatoes and skip roasting them altogether. If there weren’t some available at the farmers market, I would have used Trader Joe’s fire-roasted tomatoes straight out of a can. This recipe is simple and good as is, but I love to play around flavors. Next time I may add rosemary or thyme instead of basil and some red wine to sweeten it up a little. Some heavy cream would make it more velvety. I have not checked the ingredients or sugar content of the Campbell’s version, but my guess is that it’s high (in salt too). Some tomato recipes call for added sugar, which would give it that sweeter taste like Campbell’s, if that’s what you are aiming for. So put your twist on it. I think you’ll like it.

About Michele
Wife and Mom of three girls doing her best to lead the family into a healthier lifestyle and evolve gracefully.

Leave a Reply

